18th Asian Games 2018

As the biggest multi-sport games after the Olympic Games, the Asian Games is the most prestigious event organised by the Olympic Council of Asia. Similar to the Olympic Games, the Asian Games are held every four years, with the 17th edition to be held in Incheon in 2014.

The Asian Games follow the sports programme of the Olympic Games, with swimming and athletics as the core sports, as well as featuring disciplines which reflect the diverse sporting culture of the continent such as sepaktakraw (South East Asia), kabaddi (South Asia) and wushu (East Asia).

The inaugural Asian Games took place in New Delhi, India, in 1951 with 11 countries competing in six sports. The 16th Asian Games in Guangzhou, China, in 2010 featured 45 countries and regions competing in 42 sports, highlighting the growth of the Olympic Movement in Asia.

Indonesia at the Asian Games

Indonesia is a member of the Southeast Asian Zone of the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA), and has competed in all editions of the Asian Games since it was first held in 1951, one of only seven countries to do so.

The 4th Asian Games (Indonesian: Asian Games Musim Panas 1962) were held from August 24, 1962, to September 4, 1962, in Jakarta, Indonesia. Most notable is the exclusion of Israel and Taiwan from the Games.

Succumbing to pressure from Arab countries and the People’s Republic of China, the Indonesian government refused to issue visas for the Israeli and Taiwanese delegations. It had done so against the rules of the Asian Games Federation, and despite its promise to invite all Federation members, including those with whom it had no diplomatic relations (Israel, Republic of China and South Korea).

A total number of 1,460 athletes, coming from 17 countries, competed in this Asiad, where badminton made its debut.

18th Asian Games 2018

Jakarta & Palembang

The 18th Asian Games 2018 will be held in Jakarta and Palembang, Indonesia, from 18 August to 2 September 2018. It is the first time in the history of the Games that two cities will host the competition. This will be the second time Indonesia will host the Asian Games, Jakarta having been the host city of the 4th Asian Games in 1962.

3rd Asian Para Games 2018


The third Asian Para Games will take place in Indonesia from 6th – 13th October 2018. 4000 athletes from 43 countries are expected to take part in thirteen Paralympic and four non-Paralympic sports. The Games will take place in Jakarta in the same venues as the 2018 Asian Games.

Main Venue • Gelora Bung Karno Stadium • Jakarta



Prime Indonesia Travel Bureau is not an Authorized Ticket Reseller (ATR) and does not sell ticket(s) for the Asian Games 2018 nor for the Asian Para Games 2018.

For information on how to obtain ticket please feel free to contact us by email info@primeindonesia.net. To purchase ticket online from ATR click here.